Olusola Elijah

The battle for the All Progressives Congress(APC) primary ticket ahead of Kogi State gubernatorial election in November has taken another dimension as the National Working Committee (NWC) of the party cleared five more aspirants, making it a total of eight persons to challenge Governor, Yahaya Bello.

In a statement issued by the spokesperson of the APC Lanre Issa-Onilu, the eight aspirants cleared by the party include: Yahaya Bello, Hadiza Ibrahim, Yahaya Audu, Sani Abdullahi, Abubakar Bashir, Danlami Mohammed, Yakubu Mohammed, Hassan Abdullahi and Ekele Blessing.

The statement read “The National Working Committee (NWC) of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has deliberated on the reports of the screening and appeal committees for the party’s Kogi governorship aspirants.

“After a comprehensive review of the submissions by the two committees, relying on the party’s guidelines and the provisions of the Electoral Act, nine aspirants were finally cleared to contest the August 29, 2019 Indirect Governorship primary. Seven other aspirants did not meet the requirements for participation in the exercise.”

The spokesperson further listed seven candidates not cleared by the party. They include Mohammed Onaili, Usman Jibrin, Mustapha Audu, Rukkaya Ibrahim, Patrick Akpa, Babatunde Kunle Irukera and Muhammed Audu.